2. August 2021

Dr. Astrid Ley

Stellvertretende Leiterin der Gedenkstätte und des Museums Sachsenhausen

Statement anlässlich des Europäischen Holocaust-Gedenktages für Sinti und Roma 2020

Mein Name ist Astrid Ley, ich bin stellvertretende Leiterin der Gedenkstätte und des Museums Sachsenhausen.

Gerne beteiligen wir uns am Europäischen Gedenktag für Sinti und Roma. Es ist uns sehr wichtig, die Erinnerung an die NS-Verbrechen gegen diese und andere Minderheiten wachzuhalten, auch um gegen Rassismus in unserer heutigen Gesellschaft Stellung zu beziehen.

Über tausend Sinti und Roma wurden zwischen 1936 und 1945 ins KZ Sachsenhausen verschleppt. Ich stehe hier vor einer der Baracken des Lager-Krankenbaus, wo sich eine Ausstellung zu nationalsozialistischen Medizinverbrechen befindet. Ein Raum widmet sich den Abstammungsgutachten über Sinti und Roma, die Mitarbeiter der sogenannten "Rassenhygienischen Forschungsstelle" unter dem Psychiater Robert Ritter erstellten.

Hauptziel der Gutachten war, alle im Reichsgebiet lebenden Sinti und Roma zu erfassen. Bei den "rassenbiologischen Untersuchungen" wurden Blutproben entnommen und Gesichter sowie Körper mit speziellen Instrumenten vermessen, um physiognomische – also äußerliche – Besonderheiten zu dokumentieren. Darüber hinaus sammelten die Forscher Informationen über Verwandtschaftsbeziehungen und stellten die Ergebnisse für jede Großfamilie in sogenannten Erbtafeln zusammen.

Diese Unterlagen dienten der Polizei später als Grundlage für die Erstellung der Deportationslisten, nach denen hunderttausende im Reichsgebiet lebende Sinti und Roma in das Vernichtungslager Auschwitz-Birkenau verschleppt wurden. Die meisten von ihnen wurden dort ermordet.

Die Mitarbeiter der Forschungsstelle haben also beim Genozid an den Sinti und Roma eine zentrale Rolle gespielt: Ohne ihre Erfassungsarbeit wäre eine systematische Deportation der deutschen Sinti und Roma nicht möglich gewesen. Dennoch wurde keiner der Wissenschaftler später vor Gericht gestellt, da sie – wie es zur Verteidigung hieß – ja "lediglich geforscht" hätten. Dass sie dennoch eine erhebliche Mitschuld am Genozid an den Sinti und Roma tragen, ist eines der Themen, die wir hier in der Ausstellung mit angehenden Ärzten und Krankenpflegern erarbeiten. Damit wollen wir Angehörige medizinischer Berufe mithilfe der NS-Geschichte für heutige medizinethische Probleme sensibilisieren.

Stellungnahmen

Romani Rose

Vorsitzender des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma

Erich Schneeberger

stellv. Vorsitzender des Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrums Deutscher Sinti und Roma und Vorsitzender des Verbands Deutscher Sinti und Roma – Landesverband Bayern

Timea Junghaus

Executive Director
European Roma Institute for Arts and Culture (ERIAC)

Adam Strauß

Vorsitzender des Landesverbandes Deutscher Sinti und Roma Hessen

Marian Kalwary

Chairman of the Association of Jews,
Survivors and Victims of the Second World War

Piotr Gliński

First Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of Poland

Romani Rose

Vorsitzender des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma

Kamil Majchrzak

Vice-President of the International Committee Buchenwald Dora and Kommandos (ICBD) and Member to the Delegation of the Polish Association of Former Political Prisoners of Nazi Prisons and Concentration Camps
(PZBWPHWiOK)

Helena Dalli

Kommissarin für Gleichheitspolitik, Europäische Kommission

Website erstellt von

Website unterstützt von

In Zusammenarbeit mit

2 August 2020

Dr Astrid Ley

Deputy director of the Memorial and Museum Sachsenhausen

Statement on the occasion of the European Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma 2020

My name is Astrid Ley, I am deputy director of the Sachsenhausen Memorial.

We are happy to participate in the European Day of Remembrance for Sinti and Roma. It is very important to us to keep alive the memory of the Nazi crimes against this and other minorities in order to take a stand against racism in our society today.

Over a thousand Sinti and Roma were deported to the Sachsenhausen concentration camp between 1936 and 1945. I am standing here in front of one of the barracks of the camp infirmary, which houses an exhibition on National Socialist. One room is dedicated to the descent reports on Sinti and Roma, which were prepared by staff of the so-called “Racial Hygiene Research Centre” under the psychiatrist Robert Ritter.

The main aim of the expert reports was to record all Sinti and Roma living in the territory of the Reich. During the “racial biological investigations”, blood samples were taken and faces and bodies were measured with special instruments in order to document physiognomic – i.e. external – characteristics. In addition, the researchers collected information on kinship relations and compiled the results for each extended family in so-called inheritance tables.

These documents later served the police as a basis for the compilation of deportation lists, according to which tens of thousands of Sinti and Roma living in the Reich territory were deported to the Auschwitz-Birkenau extermination camp. Most of them were murdered there.

The staff of the Research Centre therefore played a central role in the genocide of the Sinti and Roma: Without their recording work, the systematic deportation of German Sinti and Roma would not have been possible. Nevertheless, none of the scientists were later brought to justice, because – as the defence put it – they “only did research”. The fact that they nevertheless bear a considerable share of the responsibility for the genocide of the Sinti and Roma is one of the topics we are working on here in the exhibition with budding doctors and nurses. In this way, we want to sensitise members of the medical profession to today’s medical-ethical problems with the help of Nazi history.

Statements

Romani Rose

Chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma

Erich Schneeberger

Deputy Chairman of the Documentation and Cultural Center of German Sinti and Roma and Chairman of the Association of German Sinti and Roma

Timea Junghaus

Executive Director
European Roma Institute for Arts and Culture (ERIAC)

Adam Strauß

Chairman of the Council of German Sinti and Roma in Hesse

Marian Kalwary

Chairman of the Association of Jews,
Survivors and Victims of the Second World War

Piotr Gliński

First Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of Poland

Romani Rose

Chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma

Kamil Majchrzak

Vice-President of the International Committee Buchenwald Dora and Kommandos (ICBD) and Member to the Delegation of the Polish Association of Former Political Prisoners of Nazi Prisons and Concentration Camps
(PZBWPHWiOK)

Website created by

Website supported by

In partnership with