Europäischer Holocaust-Gedenktag für Sinti und Roma

Am 2. August gedenken wir der letzten 4.300 Sinti und Roma des Deutschen NS-Konzentrationslagers Auschwitz-Birkenau, die in dieser Nacht des Jahres 1944 trotz erbittertem Widerstand von der SS ermordet wurden. In Erinnerung an die insgesamt 500.000 Sinti und Roma, die im nationalsozialistisch besetzten Europa ermordet wurden, erklärte das Europäische Parlament 2015 diesen Tag zum Europäischen Holocaust-Gedenktag für Sinti und Roma.

Gedenken

Virtuelle Gedenkveranstaltung anlässlich des Europäischen Holocaust Gedenktages für Sinti und Roma

Eröffnungsreden

Zeugnisse von Holocaustüberlebenden

Musik zur Erinnerung

Gedenkreden

Helena Dalli

Kommissarin für Gleichheitspolitik, Europäische Kommission

Stéphane Dion

Botschafter Kanadas in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Sonderbeauftragter Kanadas für die EU und Europa

Symbols for Remembrance

Rev. Jesse Jackson am 2. August 2019

Dieses Video dokumentiert nicht nur den Besuch der Bürgerrechtsikone Rev. Jesse Jackson, einem der prominentesten Vertreter der US-amerikanischen Bürgerrechtsbewegung, am 75. Jahrestag des 2. August - dem europäischen Holocaust-Gedenktag für Sinti und Roma. Das Video enthält außerdem ein einzigartiges Interview mit Jesse Jackson und Romani Rose, dem Vorsitzenden des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma, über den anhaltenden Bürgerrechtskampf der afroamerikanischen sowie der Sinti und Roma-Gemeinschaften.

Mehr lesen >>

Dr Bernd Fabritius

Federal Government Commissioner for Matters Related to Ethnic German Resettlers and National Minorities

Die Ausstellung in Block 13 zum nationalsozialistischen Völkermord an den Sinti und Roma im Auschwitz-Museum

Dieses Video zeigt den Kontext der Dauerausstellung über den Völkermord an Sinti und Roma im nationalsozialistisch besetzten Europa, die im Block 13 des Staatlichen Museums Auschwitz-Birkenau zu sehen ist. Das Video zeigt, wie die Ausstellung - durch eine einzigartige Sammlung von Familienfotos und Dokumenten - eine Normalität des alltäglichen Lebens zwischen Nachbarn in verschiedenen europäischen Staaten hervorhebt. Die Ausstellung veranschaulicht, wie diese Normalität durch das Nazi-Regime schrittweise zerstört wurde. Auf Grundlage der Rassenideologie wurden Sinti und Roma, ebenso wie Juden, nach und nach entrechtet, ihrer Lebensgrundlage beraubt und schließlich in die Vernichtungslager deportiert. Im nationalsozialistisch besetzten Europa wurden 500.000 Sinti und Roma ermordet. 

Mehr lesen >>

Erinnerung

in Europa

Commemoration in Berlin

Memorial to the Sinti and Roma of Europe murdered under National Socialism, Berlin (DE), 2 August 2020, 21:00 CET

Musik zur Erinnerung

Kunst und Poesie

RomArchive - Digitales Archiv von Sinti und Roma

Das digitale RomArchive macht die Künste und Kulturen der Sinti und Roma sichtbar und veranschaulicht ihren Beitrag zur europäischen Kulturgeschichte. Durch Narrative, die von Sinti und Roma selbst erzählt werden, schafft das RomArchive eine verlässliche und international im Internet zugängliche Wissensquelle und setzt so Stereotypen und Vorurteilen Fakten entgegen.

Besuchen Sie RomArchive.eu

Geschichte

des Holocausts an Sinti und Roma

Holocaust an den Sinti und Roma

Sinti und Roma in Auschwitz

Sign of Block 11; photo taken by Jaroslaw Praszkiewicz.

Block 11

Auszug aus "Die Vernichtung der europäischen Roma im KL Auschwitz"

Photo of flower in front of barbed wire fence taken in Auschwitz-Birkenau by Jaroslaw Praszkiewicz.

Fluchten

Auszug aus "Die Vernichtung der europäischen Roma im KL Auschwitz"

Block 13 - die ständige Ausstellung zum nationalsozialistischen Völkermord an den Sinti und Roma

Block 13 exhibition

Block 13

The permanent exhibition at Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum

Zeugnisse von Holocaustüberlebenden

Raymond Gureme

Holocaust survivor, member of the French resistance, human rights activist

Franz Rosenbach

Franz Rosenbach

Holocaust survivor and longstanding deputy chairman of the Association of German Sinti and Roma in Bavaria

Vor fünf Jahren wurde der 2. August vom Europäischen Parlament als Europäischer Holocaust-Gedenktag für Sinti und Roma anerkannt

Der 15. April 2015 war ein historischer Moment. Das Europäische Parlament stimmte mit überwältigender Mehrheit für die endgültige Annahme einer Resolution, die „die historische Tatsache des Völkermords an den Roma im Zweiten Weltkrieg" anerkennt und zu dem Schluss kommt, , „dass ein europäischer Tag dem Gedenken an die Opfer des Völkermords an den Roma im Zweiten Weltkrieg gewidmet werden sollte“.

Von enormer Bedeutung ist die Tatsache, dass diese Resolution auch die Notwendigkeit unterstreicht, „den Antiziganismus auf allen Ebenen und mit allen Mitteln zu bekämpfen, und weist mit Nachdruck darauf hin, dass dieses Phänomen eine besonders hartnäckige, gewalttätige, wiederkehrende und weit verbreitete Form des Rassismus ist“.

Mehr erfahren >>

Anerkennung

des Holocausts an Sinti und Roma

Institutionelle Anerkennung des Holocausts an Sinti und Roma

Aktuelle Kämpfe um und Fürsprache für Anerkennung

#RomaRemember

Joint statement on the occasion of 2 August 2020 – International Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma

Dikh He Na Bister! - Roma Genocide Youth Remembrance Initiative

DIKH HE NA BISTER („Schau hin und vergiss nicht“ in Romani) - Anlässlich des Europäischen Holocaust-Gedenktages für Sinti und Roma am 2. August mobilisiert die Initiative jedes Jahr tausende junge Sinti und Roma, wie auch Nichtangehörige der Minderheit aus ganz Europa - um die Erinnerung, Anerkennung und Aufklärung über den Völkermord an Sinti und Roma weiter zu fördern.

 

DIKH HE NA BISTER bietet einen Ort zum Lernen über die Vergangenheit und fördert die Auseinandersetzung über die Rolle junger Menschen in der Erinnerungskultur an den Holocaust. Die Initiative schafft einen Dialog und persönliche Begegnungen junger Menschen mit Holocaust-Überlebenden. Ihre Aussagen inspirieren die Teilnehmer, sich mit aktuellen Formen von Antiziganismus und anderen Rassismen in Europa auseinanderzusetzen und sich diesen zu widersetzen.

 

Bildung

Bildung und Jugendaktivismus

Dikh He Na Bister - Jugendaktivismus

The Deathless Woman

The Deathless Woman is a ghost story for the 21st Century, by writer-director Roz Mortimer, 2019, UK, 89 min

A Hole in the Head

A feature documentary of director Robert Kirchhoff, 2016, Slovakia / Czech Republic, 92 min

Valley of Sighs

A documentary of directors Mihai Andrei Leaha, Andrei Crişan, Iulia Elena Hossu, 2013, Romania, 56 min

Website erstellt von

Website unterstützt von

In Zusammenarbeit mit

European Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma

On 2 August, we commemorate the last 4,300 Sinti and Roma in the German Nazi concentration camp Auschwitz-Birkenau, who were murdered by the SS on that night in 1944 despite their fierce resistance. In memory of all 500,000 Sinti and Roma murdered in Nazi-occupied Europe, the European Parliament declared this date the European Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma in 2015.

Commemoration

Virtual commemoration ceremony of the European Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma

Opening Remarks

Romani Rose

Chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma

Testimonies of Holocaust survivors

Music for Remembrance

Commemoration speeches

Stéphane Dion

Ambassador of Canada in Germany, Special Representative of Canada to the EU and to Europe

Symbols for Remembrance

Rev. Jesse Jackson at 2 August 2019

This video does not only document the attendance of civil rights icon Rev. Jesse Jackson, one of the most prominent representatives of the US-American civil rights movement, at the 75th anniversary of 2 August – the European Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma. The video also features a unique interview with Rev. Jackson and Romani Rose, chair of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma, about the continued civil rights struggle of African-American and Sinti and Roma communities.

Read more >>

Dr Bernd Fabritius

Federal Government Commissioner for Matters Related to Ethnic German Resettlers and National Minorities

The Block 13 exhibition on the genocide of Sinti and Roma at Auschwitz-Museum

This video presents the context of the permanent exhibition on the genocide of Sinti and Roma in Nazi occupied Europe, which is based in Block 13 at the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum. The video shows how the exhibition highlights – through a unique collection of family photos and documents – a normality of every-day life between neighbours in various European states. The exhibition illustrates how this normality was gradually destroyed by the Nazi regime. On the basis of racial ideology, Sinti and Roma, just like the Jews, were gradually disenfranchised, deprived of their livelihoods and finally deported to the extermination camps. 500,000 Sinti and Roma were murdered in Nazi occupied Europe. 

Read more >>

Remembrance

across Europe

Commemoration in Berlin

Memorial to the Sinti and Roma of Europe murdered under National Socialism, Berlin (DE), 2 August 2020, 21:00 CET

Music for Remembrance

Poetry and Art

RomArchive - Digital Archive of Sinti and Roma

The digital RomArchive makes arts and cultures of Sinti and Roma visible, illustrating their contribution to European cultural history. Through narratives told by Sinti and Roma themselves, RomArchive creates a reliable source of knowledge that is internationally accessible on the internet, thereby countering stereotypes and prejudices with facts.

Visit the RomArchive.eu

History

of the Holocaust of Sinti and Roma

Holocaust of Sinti and Roma

Sinti and Roma in Auschwitz

Block 13 – The permanent exhibition about the Holocaust of Sinti and Roma

Block 13 exhibition

Block 13

The permanent exhibition at Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum

Testimonies of Holocaust survivors

Raymond Gureme

Holocaust survivor, member of the French resistance, human rights activist

Franz Rosenbach

Franz Rosenbach

Holocaust survivor and longstanding deputy chairman of the Association of German Sinti and Roma in Bavaria

5 years ago the European Parliament recognized 2 August as European Roma Holocaust Memorial Day

April 15, 2015 marked a historical moment. The European Parliament voted with an overwhelming majority to finally adopt a resolution which recognizes “the historical fact of the genocide of Roma that took place during World War II” and concludes “that a European day should be dedicated to commemorating the victims of the genocide of the Roma during World War II.”

Of huge importance is the fact that this resolution also “underlines the need to combat anti-Gypsyism at every level and by every means, and stresses that this phenomenon is an especially persistent, violent, recurrent and commonplace form of racism.”

Find out more >>

Recognition

of the Holocaust of Sinti and Roma

Institutional recognition of the Holocaust of Sinti and Roma

Current struggles and advocacy for recognition

#RomaRemember

Joint statement on the occasion of 2 August 2020 – International Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma

Dikh He Na Bister! - Roma Genocide Youth Remembrance Initiative

DIKH HE NA BISTER (“Look and don’t forget” in Romani) – the Roma Genocide Remembrance Initiative mobilizes each year thousands of young Roma and non-Roma all over Europe on the occasion of the 2 August – the European Roma Holocaust Memorial Day – to advance remembrance, recognition and education about the Roma Genocide.

 

DIKH HE NA BISTER is a space of learning about the past, as well as of reflection about the role of young people in Holocaust remembrance. The initiative creates a dialogue and personal encounter of young people with Holocaust survivors. Their testimonies inspire the participants to address and resist against current challenges of antigypsyism, and other forms of racism in Europe today.

 

Education

Education and Youth Activism

Dikh He Na Bister – Youth Activism

The Deathless Woman

The Deathless Woman is a ghost story for the 21st Century, by writer-director Roz Mortimer, 2019, UK, 89 min

A Hole in the Head

A feature documentary of director Robert Kirchhoff, 2016, Slovakia / Czech Republic, 92 min

Valley of Sighs

A documentary of directors Mihai Andrei Leaha, Andrei Crişan, Iulia Elena Hossu, 2013, Romania, 56 min

In partnership with