2. August 2021

Dr. Jens-Christian Wagner

Leiter der Gedenkstätte Bergen-Belsen und Geschäftsführer der Stiftung niedersächsische Gedenkstätten

Statement anlässlich des Europäischen Holocaust-Gedenktages für Sinti und Roma 2020

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

mein Name ist Jens-Christian Wagner; ich bin Leiter der Gedenkstätte Bergen-Belsen und Geschäftsführer der Stiftung niedersächsische Gedenkstätten.

Anfang August 1944, heute vor 76 Jahren, löste die SS das sogenannte „Zigeuner-Familienlager“ in Auschwitz-Birkenau auf. In der Sprache der SS hieß das „Liquidation“. Wer als nicht arbeitsfähig galt, vor allem Alte und Kinder, wurde ins Gas geschickt. Nur etwa 3000 Männer und Frauen ließ die SS am Leben – sie sollten Zwangsarbeit für den von den Nationalsozialisten propagierten „Endsieg“ leisten.

Während die Frauen in das KZ Ravensbrück kamen, brachte die SS fast alle überlebenden Jungen und Männer in den Harz, in das KZ Mittelbau-Dora. Von dort kamen sie – wie auch viele Frauen aus Ravensbrück – im Frühjahr 1945 mit den Räumungstransporten in das KZ Bergen-Belsen. Damit wurde die Mehrheit der Sinti und Roma, die in den Konzentrationslagern überlebt hatten, in Bergen-Belsen befreit, einem Ort, der in der kollektiven Erinnerung der Minderheit daher einen besonderen Raum einnimmt.

Es gibt noch einen zweiten Grund, weshalb Bergen-Belsen für die Sinti und Roma in Deutschland ein bedeutsamer Erinnerungsort ist: Im Oktober 1979 veranstalteten diverse Roma-Verbände und die Gesellschaft für bedrohte Völker eine Gedenkkundgebung in der Gedenkstätte Bergen-Belsen. Ziel war es, sowohl auf die Verfolgung und Ermordung der Sinti und Roma im Nationalsozialismus als auch auf die fortdauernde Ausgrenzung auch noch in den 1970er Jahren aufmerksam zu machen.

Für die gerade erst im Entstehen begriffene Bürgerrechtsbewegung der Sinti und Roma in Deutschland war die Gedenkveranstaltung in Bergen-Belsen (ähnlich wie ein Hungerstreik in der Gedenkstätte Dachau im Jahr darauf) von nicht zu unterschätzender Bedeutung. Es ist wohl nicht übertrieben, wenn man die Gedenkstätte Bergen-Belsen als einen Geburtsort der Sinti-Bürgerrechtsbewegung benennt. Auch daran möchten wir heute, gut vierzig Jahre danach, erinnern.

Mittlerweile sind die Selbstorganisationen der Sinti und Roma ein fester Bestandteil der deutschen Zivilgesellschaft, auch in Niedersachsen. Dennoch gibt es kaum ein Thema der NS-Verfolgung, das derartige Aktualitätsbezüge aufweist wie die Verfolgung der Sinti und Roma. Wir gedenken heute der mehreren Hunderttausend Opfer des NS-Völkermordes an den Sinti und Roma. Es wäre fahrlässig, falsche historische Analogien zu konstruieren. Dennoch dürfen wir die Augen nicht davor verschließen, dass auch heute Sinti und Roma in Deutschland und Europa von der Mehrheitsgesellschaften diskriminiert, ausgegrenzt und vielfach auch angegriffen werden. Dem müssen wir uns gemeinsam entgegenstellen. Auch dazu soll ein Gedenktag wie der heutige beitragen. Sagen wir gemeinsam Nein zum Rassismus gegen Sinti und Roma und Ja zu einer offenen, demokratischen und liberalen Gesellschaftsordnung mit geschichtsbewusster Wachsamkeit.

Stellungnahmen

Romani Rose

Vorsitzender des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma

Erich Schneeberger

stellv. Vorsitzender des Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrums Deutscher Sinti und Roma und Vorsitzender des Verbands Deutscher Sinti und Roma – Landesverband Bayern

Timea Junghaus

Executive Director
European Roma Institute for Arts and Culture (ERIAC)

Adam Strauß

Vorsitzender des Landesverbandes Deutscher Sinti und Roma Hessen

Marian Kalwary

Chairman of the Association of Jews,
Survivors and Victims of the Second World War

Piotr Gliński

First Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of Poland

Romani Rose

Vorsitzender des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma

Kamil Majchrzak

Vice-President of the International Committee Buchenwald Dora and Kommandos (ICBD) and Member to the Delegation of the Polish Association of Former Political Prisoners of Nazi Prisons and Concentration Camps
(PZBWPHWiOK)

Helena Dalli

Kommissarin für Gleichheitspolitik, Europäische Kommission

Website erstellt von

Website unterstützt von

In Zusammenarbeit mit

2 August 2020

Dr Jens-Christian Wagner

Director of the Bergen-Belsen Memorial and of the Lower Saxony Memorials Foundation

Statement on the occasion of the European Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma 2020

Ladies and Gentlemen,

My name is Jens-Christian Wagner; I am the director of the Bergen-Belsen Memorial and director of the Foundation for Lower Saxony Memorials.

In early August 1944, 76 years ago today, the SS dissolved the so-called “Gypsy Family Camp” in Auschwitz-Birkenau. In the language of the SS, this was called “liquidation”. Anyone who was considered unable to work, especially the old and children, was sent to the gas chambers. The SS only left about 3000 men and women alive – they were to perform forced labour for the “Final Victory” propagated by the National Socialists.

While the women were sent to Ravensbrück concentration camp, the SS took almost all surviving boys and men to the Harz mountains, to Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp. From there they – as well as many women from Ravensbrück – were transported to the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp in the spring of 1945. This meant that the majority of the Sinti and Roma who had survived in the concentration camps were liberated in Bergen-Belsen, a place which therefore occupies a special place in the collective memory of the minority.

There is a second reason why Bergen-Belsen is an important place of remembrance for Sinti and Roma in Germany: In October 1979, various Roma associations and the Society for Threatened Peoples organised a commemoration in the Bergen-Belsen Memorial. The aim was to draw attention both to the persecution and murder of the Sinti and Roma under National Socialism and to the continuing exclusion even in the 1970s.

For the just emerging civil rights movement of the Sinti and Roma in Germany, the commemoration event in Bergen-Belsen (similar to a hunger strike at the Dachau memorial the following year) was of significance not to be underestimated.  It is probably no exaggeration to call the Bergen-Belsen memorial a birthplace of the Sinti civil rights movement. Today, a good forty years later, we would like to remember this, too.

In the meantime, the self-organisations of the Sinti and Roma have become an integral part of German civil society, also in Lower Saxony. Nevertheless, there is hardly any topic of Nazi persecution that has such topical references as the persecution of the Sinti and Roma. Today, we commemorate the several hundred thousand victims of the Nazi genocide of the Sinti and Roma. It would be negligent to construct false historical analogies. Nevertheless, we must not close our eyes to the fact that even today Sinti and Roma in Germany and Europe are discriminated, marginalised and often attacked by the majority society. We must stand up to this together. A day of remembrance like today should also contribute to this. Let us say No to racism against Sinti and Roma and Yes to an open, democratic and liberal social order with historical awareness and vigilance.

Statements

Romani Rose

Chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma

Erich Schneeberger

Deputy Chairman of the Documentation and Cultural Center of German Sinti and Roma and Chairman of the Association of German Sinti and Roma

Timea Junghaus

Executive Director
European Roma Institute for Arts and Culture (ERIAC)

Adam Strauß

Chairman of the Council of German Sinti and Roma in Hesse

Marian Kalwary

Chairman of the Association of Jews,
Survivors and Victims of the Second World War

Piotr Gliński

First Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of Poland

Romani Rose

Chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma

Kamil Majchrzak

Vice-President of the International Committee Buchenwald Dora and Kommandos (ICBD) and Member to the Delegation of the Polish Association of Former Political Prisoners of Nazi Prisons and Concentration Camps
(PZBWPHWiOK)

Website created by

Website supported by

In partnership with