2. August 2021

Barbara Glück

Leiterin der Gedenkstätte Mauthausen

Statement anlässlich des Europäischen Holocaust-Gedenktages für Sinti und Roma 2020

Die Ausstellungen in der KZ-Gedenkstätte Mauthausen arbeiten mit einer Vielzahl audiovisueller Interviews von Überlebenden. Eines der beeindruckendsten Zeugnisse ist dabei jenes von Michael Horvath. Michael Horvath stammte aus einer burgenländischen Roma-Familie. Im Juni 1939 wurde er verhaftet. Er überlebte die Konzentrationslager Dachau, Buchenwald, Gusen und Mauthausen. Im Mai 1945 wurde er von der US-Armee befreit.

In seiner Schilderung bringt Michael Horvath auf beeindruckende Weise die Orientierungslosigkeit zum Ausdruck, mit der viele Überlebende im Moment der Befreiung konfrontiert waren. So wie für viele jüdische Überlende galt auch für Sinti und Roma, dass ein Großteil ihrer Familien ermordet und ihr soziales Umfeld weitgehend zerstört worden waren. Wohin sollten sie also zurückkehren?

Dennoch gelang es Michael Horvath, sich nach seiner Befreiung aus dem KZ ein neues Leben aufzubauen und eine Familie zu gründen. Doch die Feindseligkeit gegenüber Roma und Sinti endete nicht mit dem Nationalsozialismus. Diskriminierungserfahrungen waren auch in den Jahrzehnten danach Teil ihres Alltags. Im Jahr 1995 erreichten sie mit dem Attentat im burgenländischen Oberwart ihren Höhepunkt. 50 Jahre nach Michael Horvaths Befreiung aus Mauthausen wurden zwei seiner Enkelsöhne bei diesem rassistisch motivierten Sprengstoffanschlag ermordet.

Es zählt zu den wichtigsten Aufgaben der KZ-Gedenkstätte Mauthausen, dieses Weiterleben nationalsozialistischer und rassistischer Ideologie nach 1945 bis in die Gegenwart zu beleuchten und darüber aufzuklären. Gleichzeitig wollen wir Personen wie Michael Horvath würdigen, die trotz aller erlittenen Schicksalsschläge Menschen geblieben sind.

Das ist was wir vor allem unseren jungen Menschen an der Gedenkstätte immer wieder sagen, dass dieser Hass gegen Minderheiten, diese rassistische Getriebenheit des Hasses, dass der 1938 nicht begonnen hat und leider 1945 auch nicht aufgehört hat. Und umso mehr ist es unsere Aufgabe, an diesen Orten, an den Gedenkstätten, das wir daran erinnern, dass wir an der Geschichte von Michael Horvath und an die vielen anderen Schicksale erinnern und dass wir zeigen, dass wir heute umso wachsamer sein müssen, dass genau diese Dinge, die leider immer wieder passieren, dass wir, dass es an uns liegt, dass das nicht wieder passieren darf.

Stellungnahmen

Romani Rose

Vorsitzender des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma

Erich Schneeberger

stellv. Vorsitzender des Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrums Deutscher Sinti und Roma und Vorsitzender des Verbands Deutscher Sinti und Roma – Landesverband Bayern

Timea Junghaus

Executive Director
European Roma Institute for Arts and Culture (ERIAC)

Adam Strauß

Vorsitzender des Landesverbandes Deutscher Sinti und Roma Hessen

Marian Kalwary

Chairman of the Association of Jews,
Survivors and Victims of the Second World War

Piotr Gliński

First Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of Poland

Romani Rose

Vorsitzender des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma

Kamil Majchrzak

Vice-President of the International Committee Buchenwald Dora and Kommandos (ICBD) and Member to the Delegation of the Polish Association of Former Political Prisoners of Nazi Prisons and Concentration Camps
(PZBWPHWiOK)

Helena Dalli

Kommissarin für Gleichheitspolitik, Europäische Kommission

Website erstellt von

Website unterstützt von

In Zusammenarbeit mit

2 August 2020

Barbara Glück

Director of the Mauthausen Memorial

Statement on the occasion of the European Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma 2020

The exhibitions at the Mauthausen concentration camp memorial site operate using a large number of audio-visual interviews with survivors. Michael Horvath’s testimony is one of the most impressive ones. He came from a Roma family in Burgenland and was arrested in June 1939. Michael Horvath survived the concentration camps Dachau, Buchenwald, Gusen and Mauthausen. In May 1945, he was liberated by the US army.

In his account, Michael Horvath impressively expresses the disorientation with which many survivors were confronted at the moment of liberation. As was the case for many Jewish survivors, Sinti and Roma survivors have lost the majority of their families to murder and their social environment had been largely destroyed. So where should they return to?

Nevertheless, after his liberation from the concentration camp, Michael Horvath has succeeded in building a new life for himself and founding a family. But the hostility towards Roma and Sinti has not ended with National Socialism. Experiences of discrimination have continued to be part of their everyday lives in the decades that followed. In 1995, they reached their peak with the assassination in Oberwart in Burgenland. 50 years after Michael Horvath’s liberation from Mauthausen, two of his grandsons were murdered in this racially motivated bomb attack.

One of the most important tasks of the Mauthausen Concentration Camp Memorial Site is to illuminate and enlighten this continuation of National Socialist and racist ideology after 1945 to the present day. At the same time, we want to honour people like Michael Horvath, who remained human beings despite all the blows of fate they suffered.

That is what we tell our young people at the memorial site again and again, that this hatred against minorities, this racist driven hatred, that it did not start in 1938 and unfortunately did not stop in 1945. And all the more it is our task, at these places, at the memorials, to remind them that we are reminding them of the story of Michael Horvath and of the many other fates, and to show that we must be all the more vigilant today, that it is precisely these things that unfortunately happen again and again, that we, that it is up to us, that this must not happen again.

Statements

Romani Rose

Chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma

Erich Schneeberger

Deputy Chairman of the Documentation and Cultural Center of German Sinti and Roma and Chairman of the Association of German Sinti and Roma

Timea Junghaus

Executive Director
European Roma Institute for Arts and Culture (ERIAC)

Adam Strauß

Chairman of the Council of German Sinti and Roma in Hesse

Marian Kalwary

Chairman of the Association of Jews,
Survivors and Victims of the Second World War

Piotr Gliński

First Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of Poland

Romani Rose

Chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma

Kamil Majchrzak

Vice-President of the International Committee Buchenwald Dora and Kommandos (ICBD) and Member to the Delegation of the Polish Association of Former Political Prisoners of Nazi Prisons and Concentration Camps
(PZBWPHWiOK)

Website created by

Website supported by

In partnership with